Vernon Township

21 Church Street, Vernon, NJ 07462
Phone: 973.764.4055

Fire Department

pict firedeptVernon Township is served by four separate fire departments, all of which are manned by highly trained volunteers.

Department personnel respond to various types of emergencies such as structure fires, car fires, brush fires, car accidents, carbon monoxide alarms and water rescues. When called upon, the fire departments also assist other fire companies both within and outside of Sussex County.

The four volunteer fire companies, coverage area and contact information for each follows.

Vernon Township Fire Commissioner John Cosh
Deptuy Fire Commissioner Ted Warnet

Vernon Township Fire Department

Coverage Area: Covers the Vernon Valley area and assists the other three departments with direct response in their areas.

Address: 535 Route 515, Vernon
Telephone: 973.764.3850

Chief Ron Krystofik, Jr.
Deputy Chief James Raperto

Highland Lakes Fire Department

Coverage Area: Covers the Highland Lakes area including Barry Lakes, Lake Wanda, Laurel Lake and Cliffwood Lake plus Wawayanda State Park and the Vernon section of the Warwick Turnpike.

Address: 813 Canistear Road, Highland Lakes
Telephone: 973.764.9385

Chief Scott Semchesyn
Deputy Chief Karen Thomas

McAfee Fire Department

Coverage Area: Covers the McAfee area including Scenic Lakes, Cedar Ridge, Sun Valley and Great Gorge condominiums.

Address: 88 Route 94, McAfee
Telephone: 973.827.3080

Chief Jeff Andersen
Deputy Chief Mike Passaro

Pochuck Valley Fire Department

Coverage Area: Covers the Pochuck Valley area including Lake Wallkill, Lake Glenwood, Lake Panorama and Tall Timbers.

Address: 13 Lake Wallkill Road, Sussex
Telephone: 973.875.6233

Chief John Cosh
Deputy Chief Brian Enering


Vernon Township

21 Church Street
Vernon, NJ 07462

Phone: 973.764.4055 

Township Hours

Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.


Emergencies Dial 9-1-1
Non-Emergencies Dial 973-764-6155


Current Agendas

Township Council

Land Use Board