Pochuck boardwalk along the Appalachian Trail in Vernon. Photo credit: Nicholas Rinaldi

Township News

alert

Special Council Workshop Meetings
The township council will be holding the following special workshop meetings in the municipal center at 21 Church Street in Vernon for department budget presentations. Official action may be taken.

Monday, February 27, 2017, at 5:00 p.m.
Monday, March 6, 2017, at 6:00 p.m.

The February 27 meeting will be followed immediately by the council’s regular meeting at 7:30 p.m.

Financial Analysis of Vernon’s Sanitary Utility System Now Available
Consultant’s report to assist in determining viability of the VTMUA.
Nominate a Vernon Resident for Senior of the Year
Know a Vernon senior who has contributed services that benefited our community and surrounding areas?
Project Self-Sufficiency Offering Free Mammograms
Screenings for uninsured/underinsured women age 40+ will take place on February 23, 2017.
Press Release from Mayor Shortway About Legends
Township enforces codes in effort to protect residents.
St. Clare’s to Provide Ambulance Coverage
St. Clare’s will be providing ambulance coverage three days per week.
Vendors Needed for Vernon Day
Don’t miss the opportunity to participate in this year’s event, scheduled for Sunday, June 4. Application deadline is May 26, 2017.
Community Garden 2017 Season
The community garden will open for the season on April 15, 2017.
Vernon Couch to 5K Training Program
Get fit, get healthy, get going this spring!

More news »

Upcoming Meetings

  • Monday, February 20
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
    • Presidents’ Day–Municipal offices closed
  • Wednesday, February 22
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, February 27
    • 5:00PM Township Council–Budget Mtg.
      Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, February 28
    • 7:00PM Beautification Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, March 1
    • 7:30PM Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, March 2
    • 7:00PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, March 6
    • 6:00PM Township Council–Budget Mtg.
      Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:00PM Greenway Action
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, March 8
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, March 9
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, March 13
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, March 20
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, March 22
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, March 27
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, March 28
    • 7:00PM Beautification Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, April 3
    • 7:00PM Greenway Action
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, April 5
    • 7:30PM Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, April 6
    • 7:00PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, April 10
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, April 12
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, April 13
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Friday, April 14
    • Good Friday–Municipal offices closed

Current Agendas

Vernon Weather

Last Updated on February 20, 9:23 PM

clear Clear, 31° F

Today’s Forecast:
Clear
High: 46° F | Low: 23° F

View Complete Forecast »

Wunderground
  • township directory
  • police on facebook
  • fill out our application form
  • external VTMUA website
  • township code
  • recycling info