The hills of Vernon Township, New Jersey. Photo credit: Nicholas Rinaldi

The U.S. Census Bureau is Hiring Now!
The Township of Vernon is working with the U.S. Census Bureau to help local residents get hired for well paying, flexible part-time or full-time positions with the Census Bureau. Many of these positions are right here in Vernon Township and Sussex County. Visit the U.S. Census Bureau website to immediately apply online.

Nominating Petitions Available
Candidate nominating petition packets for the offices of mayor and councilmember-at-large (2) for the November 5, 2019 municipal election are available in the township clerk’s office. All completed petitions must be returned by 4:00 p.m. on September 3, 2019.

Township News

Outdoor Movie Nights
Enjoy a free family-friendly movie as summer officially winds down.
2019 Trails of Vernon Challenge
The challenge officially kicked off on June 1, 2019.
State Offers New Screening Tool DCAid
See if you are eligible for NJ utility and housing assistance programs.
Farmers Market Comes to Vernon
The market will take place from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the municipal building on the third Saturday of each month, April through September.
Township Revaluation Scheduled to Begin
The township has contracted with Realty Appraisal Company to conduct the revaluation process.

More news »

Upcoming Meetings

  • Monday, August 26
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 28
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 2
    • Labor Day–Municipal offices closed
  • Wednesday, September 4
    • 7:30PM Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 5
    • 7:30PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 9
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, September 10
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, September 11
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 12
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 16
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, September 17
    • 7:00PM Beautification Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 19
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 23
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, September 25
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, October 2
    • 7:30PM Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, October 3
    • 7:30PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, October 7
    • 7:00PM Greenway Action
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, October 8
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, October 9
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, October 10
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building

Current Agendas

  • township directory
  • police on facebook
  • fill out our application form
  • external VTMUA website
  • township code
  • recycling info
  • The Vernon Township Building Department is online
  • Vacant and abandoned residential properties must be registered