Pochuck boardwalk along the Appalachian Trail in Vernon. Photo credit: Nicholas Rinaldi

July Construction to Close Rudetown Road
The Sussex County Division of Engineering will be repairing Bridge V-05, a concrete culvert on CR-517 (Rudetown Road) in Vernon. Construction is scheduled to begin on or about Monday, July 7, 2014 and will last for 4-5 weeks. In order to complete these repairs, a full closure and detour of Rudetown Road via routes 23 and 94 will be necessary (see detour map ) for the duration of construction.

Township News

alert

Property Tax Grace Period Extended
The grace period for the third quarter tax payment has been extended to Friday, August 22, 2014.

National Night Out August 5
Join us for a party at Maple Grange Park!
United Way Caregivers Coalition Helps Caregivers in Sussex County
The United Way advocates for the indispensable role caregivers take on in the community.
Proclamations Honoring Police Department, VFW and Students
The mayor and township council recognized accomplishments at the May 12, 2014 council meeting.
Vernon Launches Shop Vernon Program
Shop local and reap the rewards!

More news »

Upcoming Meetings

  • Monday, July 28
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 4
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council–WS
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 11
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, August 12
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 13
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 14
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 18
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council–WS
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 21
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 25
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 27
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 1
    • Labor Day–Municipal offices closed
  • Monday, September 8
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, September 9
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, September 10
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 11
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 15
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council–WS
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 18
    • 7:00PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 22
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, September 24
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 29
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council–WS
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, October 6
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council–WS
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, October 8
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building

Current Agendas

Vernon Weather

Thursday, July 24, 2014 at 12:51 PM

Mostly Cloudy Mostly Cloudy, 78° F

Today’s Forecast:
Partly Cloudy   High: 75° | Low: 54°

View Complete Forecast »

  • township directory
  • police on facebook
  • Vernon Vibes
  • external VTMUA website
  • township code
  • recycling info