The hills of Vernon Township, New Jersey. Photo credit: Nicholas Rinaldi

Have an Addiction Problem?
Get help without fear of questioning, arrest or prosecution from law enforcement. Learn more about the Sussex County C.L.E.A.R. Program ».

Nominating Petitions Available
Candidate nominating petition packets for the offices of mayor and councilmember-at-large (2) for the November 5, 2019 municipal election are available in the township clerk’s office. All completed petitions must be returned by 4:00 p.m. on September 3, 2019.

Township News

alert

Miss Vernon 2019
Congratulations to Hannah Van Blarcom, a junior at Vernon Township High School, who was chosen as Miss Vernon 2019 by the Kiwanis Club of Vernon. She will represent Vernon Township at the New Jersey State Fair and compete for Queen of the Fair on Saturday, August 3, 2019 at 7:00 p.m.

Vernon Night Out
Join us at Maple Grange Park on August 7, 2019.
2019 Trails of Vernon Challenge
The challenge officially kicked off on June 1, 2019.
State Offers New Screening Tool DCAid
See if you are eligible for NJ utility and housing assistance programs.
Farmers Market Comes to Vernon
The market will take place from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the municipal building on the third Saturday of each month, April through September.
Township Revaluation Scheduled to Begin
The township has contracted with Realty Appraisal Company to conduct the revaluation process.

More news »

Upcoming Meetings

  • Wednesday, July 24
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 1
    • 7:30PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 5
    • 7:00PM Greenway Action
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 7
    • 7:30PM Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 8
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 12
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, August 13
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 14
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 15
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 19
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, August 20
    • 7:00PM Beautification Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 26
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 28
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 2
    • Labor Day–Municipal offices closed
  • Wednesday, September 4
    • Recreation–Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 5
    • 7:30PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 9
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, September 10
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, September 11
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 12
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building

Current Agendas

  • township directory
  • police on facebook
  • fill out our application form
  • external VTMUA website
  • township code
  • recycling info
  • The Vernon Township Building Department is online
  • Vacant and abandoned residential properties must be registered