The hills of Vernon Township, New Jersey. Photo credit: Nicholas Rinaldi

Electronic Tax Sale
The Township of Vernon announces the sale of 2018 and prior year delinquent taxes and other municipal charges through an online auction on December 4, 2019. View a listing of all parcels, delinquencies and costs at https://vernon.newjerseytaxsale.com

2020 Revaluation Progress Update
Inspections for the 2020 revaluation are still in progress through late 2019. Read more »

U.S. Census Bureau is Hiring
The Census Bureau wants to hire local residents to work in their local community! Visit the U.S. Census Bureau website to immediately apply online. Census taker jobs pay $21.00 an hour and are flexible, so they fit anyone’s schedule. View job titles and pay rates  

Township News

Township Revaluation: Progress Update
Inspections for the 2020 revaluation are still in progress and will continue into late 2019.
Vernon Honors Veterans
There are now designated parking spaces at the municipal building, Veterans Memorial Park and Maple Grange Park just for veterans.
Remember Our Fallen, One Wreath at a Time
Join together on December 14, 2019 to honor those who served.
Holiday Bazaar
Join us on November 30, 2019 for this event.
Community Tree Lighting
The township’s community tree lighting will take place on Friday, December 6, 2019.
Operation Toy Train
The train will be stopping in Vernon on November 30, 2019.
5K Turkey Trot
Join the fun on Thanksgiving morning!

More news »

Upcoming Meetings

  • Monday, November 18
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, November 19
    • 7:00PM Beautification Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, November 25
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, November 27
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, November 28
    • Thanksgiving–Municipal offices closed
  • Friday, November 29
    • Thanksgiving–Municipal offices closed
  • Monday, December 2
    • 7:00PM Greenway Action
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, December 4
    • 7:30PM Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, December 5
    • 7:30PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, December 9
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, December 10
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, December 11
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, December 12
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, December 16
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, December 17
    • 7:00PM Beautification Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, December 19
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, December 23
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, December 24
    • Christmas Eve–Municipal offices closed
  • Wednesday, December 25
    • Christmas–Municipal offices closed
  • Wednesday, January 1
    • 12:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
    • New Year’s Day–Municipal offices closed

Current Agendas

  • township directory
  • police on facebook
  • fill out our application form
  • external VTMUA website
  • township code
  • recycling info
  • The Vernon Township Building Department is online
  • Vacant and abandoned residential properties must be registered