Pochuck boardwalk along the Appalachian Trail in Vernon. Photo credit: Nicholas Rinaldi

JCP&L Helicopter May Be Overhead
Jersey Central Power & Light is conducting its annual vegetation management aerial patrol now through Friday, July 31, 2015, weather permitting. The helicopter is black and the identifying tail number is N5027P. It will be flying at a speed of about 35-40 mph above or alongside the lines, and may circle around for a closer inspection of an area of interest.

Property Tax Grace Period Extended
The grace period for the third quarter tax payment has been extended to Friday, August 24, 2015.

Nominating Petitions Available
Candidate nominating petition packets for the offices of mayor and councilmember-at-large (2) for the November 3, 2015 municipal election are available in the township clerk’s office. All completed petitions must be returned by 4:00 p.m. on August 31, 2015.

Township News

Online Auction of Surplus Vehicles & Equipment
Vehicles and equipment will be sold through a five day online auction August 6 through August 10.
Shop Vernon Program Lauded by Harvard
The property tax incentive program has been recognized as one of the top 25 programs in this year’s Innovations in American Government Awards competition.

More news »

Upcoming Meetings

  • Monday, August 3
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 10
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, August 11
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 12
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 13
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 17
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 20
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 24
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 26
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 31
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 3
    • 7:30PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 7
    • Labor Day–Municipal offices closed
  • Tuesday, September 8
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, September 9
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 10
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 14
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, September 17
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 21
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, September 23
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, September 28
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building

Current Agendas

Vernon Weather

Friday, July 31, 2015 at 6:33 AM

Partly Cloudy Partly Cloudy, 60° F

Today’s Forecast:
Partly Cloudy   High: 87° | Low: 61°

View Complete Forecast »

  • township directory
  • police on facebook
  • Vernon Vibes
  • external VTMUA website
  • township code
  • recycling info